. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


What It Is To Run



I took this self portrait nearly two years ago.
It was a dark, strange and heavy time in my life.
It sums up that emotion entirely, for me.

Somehow.

.
I've been thinking a lot today.

I went for a run tonight, along the beach.
The sky was at its blackest, so much that the sea and sky were in sync.
I couldn't tell them apart.
I saw the breath coming out of me as I paced, paced, paced along,
and nothing else.

I love those moments when I feel completely isolated and alone in the world.
I can hear my heart pounding, each foot hitting the pavement, and then back.
It makes me feel alive, like my body is invisible to everyone but me.

I wish you could hear it now, the way I hear it in my head.

.

I wonder where people go - when they move on from you, and the life you had.
I think about their new lovers, the bed they sleep in each night, or how they've changed their hair.
Does he still take his tea black with one sugar?

I think about my life now,
how different it all is, and how much I have changed because of it.

Love is funny that way.
We spend our life in these pockets of moments - one minute after the next.
Migrating through emotions like countries or states.

I wonder where I'll wake up tomorrow.
How my breath will sound in the new morning air.

Or how fast I can get from my front door to the pier.



2011-02-01