. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


Main Island Lovers



To cheat
on Maine islands
- days of laughter,
nights of sighing.
To love
without ceasing
- flowering orchards,
salty sea-things.
To say
without shyness
�unreal city,
you have killed me.�

We take
each night�s journey
to the hotel
in a hurry,
where we love
without worry
on a bed that�s
five days dirty.
And we read
without irony
from a book my
husband bought for me.

When I fell
on the concrete
it was lovely,
because you could see
what�s been running
so hot in me.
But when I fell
on the concrete,
you went white as
a sheet
and wished that nothing
in this world
would ever hurt me.
Well, keep wishing.

Because when I look
in my future,
I don�t see you
and don�t wish to.
Idle talk made
when I�m lying
by your side on
some Maine island
is too funny
to me, honey,
so let�s drop it.
If you really
want to love me,
well, then do it.



2010-10-14