. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


Setting The Scene, or Indiana



I walked home with my head buried in sound.
I'm not sure why I felt lonely, or sad tonight - I just did.
I listened to Via Chicago on repeat.
No matter how many times I've heard that song,
45 seconds to the end gets me everytime.
That creak in Jeff Tweedy's voice will forever stay with me.

Or, make me think of that long road trip
out to Indiana one summer.
Jeff behind the wheel, my legs dangling out of the passenger window
and all of the world exposed in just a few minutes. Just the passing of that song,
setting the scene for our little adventure.

Now, all these years and miles between that place in time
I feel ... underwhelmed by it all.
By this little life, no matter how big I try to make it.
Or package it up in prettier aesthetics.
It's still just me - and this is really all I have to give.

These little musings, and little past-tenses.

Goodnight, x




2010-08-03