. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


A Black Spot To Cover



He is smoking more these days,
puffing at the kitchen window
trying to cover the smell with cooking grease
and olive oil.

When I shower
the smell washes out of my hair-
I follow it down the drain
in slow circles
and then we are gone.

.

Pedro Almodovar reminded me
of something awful last night,
a secret that I will keep until I take my last breath-
knowing or unknown.

A whisper through the screen
into my left ear
a whisper that has left me shuddering and cold.

And it is so -
that I watch him smoke
and worry about the cancer that may steal him away from me.

I am not ready to be alone,
but I know that January is a cruel month
only here to make us remember
and mourn.

I wait.





2009-07-29