. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


I Hope It Don't Turn Away



There is always something about this weather,
this time of year,
that makes me miss cigarettes.
I miss leaning out the open window,
legs perched on the radiator, leg warmers and a scarf,
taking a long drag, inhaling deeply, and discarding the rest slowly out into the dark night.

It's romanticized in my head.
Music is always playing in the background,
vinyl spinning, scratching, Neil Young or Tina Turner.

And, I am most certainly thinking about someone from far away, long ago.

Tonight, though.
There is no smoke, windows, or deep breaths.
There is most certainly longing, leg warmers, and Neil Young.
On The Beach, and it spins, sooths me and doctors me back into good health.




2008-11-10