. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


An Inspired Rant



I am so completely nervous about the Presidential election.
So, so nervous.
My stomach is in knots.

America is big, but it is also so small in comparison to the
rest of the world. We sit in front of our televisions in the evenings,
we read about it online and in the papers, and the world is
waiting, anticipating, for things to be done, for Americans to
wake and up and realise that they are not the only ones
their decisions impact.

America is not the world.

Four years ago, when I went to vote, I was nearly run
off of the road twice by different men in pickup trucks.
They didn't approve with the kind message I had painted
on my window in shoe polish ("The only bush I trust is my own!")
It's that kind of mentality that makes me feel ashamed to
say where I am from. It's that kind of fear mongering that
the world is sick and tired of.

But, I am proud to say where I am from because I have
hope that a large part of America does know the score,
and they do understand how important this election is.
And, sure...one man can not make that much of a difference
at first - but this is about taking the right steps to ensure
that a difference can even be made at all. It's about realising
a country's potential for greatness, and for salvation.

I am not naive enough to believe that this is not a question
about race. It is engrained into our subconcious and
whilst I couldn't care less if our President was a woman or
black - a lot of people do. America prides itself on being a nation
of progress, change, outstanding freedom and pride, yet
we allow ourselves to remain narrow minded in our awe
that a black man OR a woman may ever be President.
America shackles itself in its very own beliefs and prejudices.
We hinder our own future because of it.

As an American, and as a woman who watches the nation
uproot and attempt to make a difference on her tiny 27" television screen...
I say do it, make an impact, make a stand, define your own
destiny and create your own history.



2008-11-04