. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


Sweden Cont'd II


Day 2, Thursday pm; Summer cabin: After hours of driving, shopping in Swedish supermarkets for food, going to Ida's cousins who didn't speak a lick of English and staring at their kid for thirty minutes, we arrived at the cabin. It was just as I expected it would be.. only slightly more nautical than I had anticipated. As Autumn was definitely in its beginning stages, the cabin was freezing. We turned the radiators on, turned the outside heating lamps on, and began making our way through, lugging in suitcases, unpacking the food, and making ourselves comfortable. For me, this involved changing from my ballet flats and into my boots, grey hoodie, and pashmina scarf and tying my hair back. I opened the first of four bottles of wine, put on an Otis Redding cd, and began chopping the vegetables for dinner. Ida made her way throughout the place, and after a while of having the heating on, various lights, the oven, and music one of the fuses blew. Half of the cabin was lit, the other half was not. I lit roughly a hundred tea light candles, and carried on with dinner. Ida panicked about, trying to get things up and running. There is no signal where we were, so she had to drive up to the top of a hill to phone her mum to find out where the spare fuses were. She came back after a while, and viola! We had lights and heating again. I opted to leave the lights off, for the most part. I found the ambience and atmosphere to be exactly what that place needed. We sat down to eat, talked, laughed, and sang along to Otis. The rest of the night varied from the sofa, to the table and chairs outside beneath the heating lights. We rotated my weird dog mask, and laughed. We had long conversations about various things, most of them being rather serious and enlightening. Different from our usual drinking-chats. We stayed wrapped up in blue fleece blankets for the most part, until finally making our way to the bunk beds to sleep. I slept in my socks because it was still so cold throughout the cabin. Everything outside was pitch black - not a light in view, except for the stars..which were beautiful.























































2008-09-28