. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


Sweden Cont'd...












Day 2, Thursday am




















Woke up early, even though I was wearing my










eye mask to keep out the daylight.










I woke to the sound of Ida on the phone.










I crawled out of my small but comfortable bed,










wrapped a giant fleece blanket around my tiny







frame and wondered through the flat enjoying







my very first view of the country in the light.










Trees.




















We rummaged through the fridge,










and I decided on scrambled egg and bacon










on toast.










I never eat bacon and I'm the worst pescatarian










ever it would seem.










Who needs chicken or fish when you've got fatty










crispy bacon!




















We watched an hour of America's Next Top Model,










and I just stared at the Swedish subtitles and then










we began to pack our things up, shower, and get










ready to hit the road for our 3 hour drive to the










summer cabin - located in a place that I can never










remember the name of.




















Driving through downtown Stockholm was quite










something, and I was glued to the window










constantly comparing with things that I recognized










from American and England. It's what I always do










when I go anywhere new to me - I like to notice










the differences and the similarities.







Like, how the doors in Sweden are







completely different







when they lock and logically it makes no







sense to me. Or, how










the streets and road signs remind me so much of










highways throughout America,







or how Sweden doesn't










really have bilboards and it makes everything seem










so much cleaner and neat.




















We listened to various mixes I had made for our







trip,most of which I just took from my mixwit mixes.







I was hoping that there would have been







more to look at,but again,







it was just trees. Beautiful pine trees,










but still just trees.




















We took a bit of a break and stopped at a place










Ida had spent many times having lunch there










with her family.










It was a small cafe/diner kind of place -










but completely different from the kind I was










used to.










The sky was grey and it had been raining










on and off all afternoon, but it










had cleared up long enough to make our way in.










It was full of people who's faces looked










so long and thin, and everyone seemed to stop










what they were doing for a moment to










look at us, and then continue on with their meals.










I had a turkey, lettuce and tomato sandwich










and Ida had a typically Swedish lunch of










an open faced meatball and







beetroot relish sandwich.










Water to drink x 2.




















We left, and went for a walk around the







area, close to a nearby lake,







Ida smoked a cigarette and then we carried










on...making our way closer to the cabin....

































































2008-09-27