. . . . . .home. . . . . .archive. . . . . .profile. . . . . .notes. . . . . .mixes. . . . . .


his banner over me











Without him, the days have become shorter.









I never wish time away but I am grateful









for the quickly passing hours.









I hear my voice loud inside of my head,









writing letters to him without









saying any words at all.









I vow to write him every day that I am









not with him. Even if pen never









touches paper or fingers to keys,









my heart is writing one thousand









sonnets all in his name.


















I have moments of sudden longing,









where I feel as if he is with me,









beside me, breathing into me.









It makes my heart stop all of its









beating, if only to be quiet









enough so that I can hear his whisper.


















Love is a soft and tender thing,









that breaks my skin like









pebbles skimming across the sea.









My body ripples and plunges back into








darkness.


















In my ache, I need to feel him through me.









Countries separate the miles between his









hands and my body.









I bury my face in the smell of his old









shirt, and move my fingers inside of me









until my cries are hushed by









soft whimpers.


















This is what love has done to me.


2008-07-17